Heart of The City

14 Sep

After catching up on what seemed like a million emails and errands, I decided to check out the 30th Annual Celebration of the “Heart of the City” Farmer’s Market by City Hall.  San Francisco’s City Hall is so spectacular but also located in one of the worst neighborhoods I have ever been to, the Tenderloin.  If you ever visit SF, it is one place to completely black out on your map.

My dear friend Julian took this great photo of SF’s City Hall when he came to visit from NYC a few months ago:

His other photos were just as awesome.

The Chinatown Fortune Cookie Factory (They charge 50 cents for a photo but we didn’t mind supporting the cause)

Outside the De Young museum!

The four of us

Of course Juelz had to get an ice cream sundae at Ghirardelli Square.

Back to the Farmer’s Market… It was a pretty dreary day but there was still a great turn out!

If I’m at the market, I tend to only buy all organic produce.    I stocked up on Kale and Zucchini at this table.

After walking out of my way to avoid the worst parts of the neighborhood, I finally reached home base.  By that time, I was famished.  I heated up some Spicy Latin Black Bean soup from Trader Joe’s and made a quick Farmer’s Market salad  with my loot.  I massaged Lacinto Kale with some EVOO and chopped a bright yellow heirloom tomato, a carrot, a zucchini and added dollops of fresh herbed goat cheese.  It hit the spot!

Until I found this little insect crawling on my kale.  It looks a whole lot bigger than it was.  It was itty-bitty  and I’m sure it was harmless, but I couldn’t bear to possibly eat a living crawling insect (for my sake as well as theirs).  So, I picked up every piece of ripped green leaf and thoroughly inspected it before it passed through my lips.  I may have looked like a caveman but I had to do it.  

Leave a comment