Sunday Sunday

26 Sep

The typical hotel breakfast was had. Then this oddly shaped banana happened.

Fortunately, we were amidst some real produce pretty soon!

Mixed greens w edible flowers – I bought this mix all the time last summer in Berkeley!!

I miss NYC bagels. I miss all bagels actually.

Shishitos mmm…

Gluten-Free cookies from “Sweet Temptations” – The nice older man at the booth let me sample all 6 cookies. I went with the Vanilla Chocolate Chip.

The ingredient list is good and bad. The Maltitol is really what bothers me. Not only is the fake sweetener a turnoff, the cookies were too oily in my opinion. I still at 4 today :/ The upside is that they’re not too sweet, they contain almond meal and have great flavor from the pecans, coconut and vanilla. I probably won’t buy them again (I get tunnel vision when I see “Gluten-Free” and see “Tummy Safe” instead) but I can’t say that I didn’t enjoy them!

Fennel and Yellow Carrots

My mom getting produce snap happy with her new phone

Heirlooms

Stalks of Brussels

Peach and Pluot Sample Bar

Fresh, Raw Sprouted Coconut Almond Milk. SO SO Good. I may come back next week just to buy a few bottles.

Cranberry Beans – I wonder what they look like outside of their pod!

Chubby Carrots

9 AM Farmer’s Market means no shower & make-up. That’s cool right?

Afterwards, we met up with Matt and his mom for brunch at a cute cafe in a Victorian house (*these aren’t my photos)

I had a seasonal vegetable salad w/ poached eggs and stole all of my mom’s homefries.

Snacks included 4 big cookies as mentioned, several handfuls of raw almonds, and one of these:

Is it just me or did they change the recipe for these Pure Chocolate Brownie bars? I recently looked at the ingredients and saw that there was added protein. I remember this bar being only a few ingredients like a Larabar. While I like the nutritional value of the added protein, it definitely takes away from the “pure” taste.

Dinner was vietnamese.

Shrimp Vermicelli Spring Rolls w/ Peanut Sauce to start.

Lemongrass Pork w/ Egg Roll, Papaya Salad and Shrimp for my mom.

Veggie Pho w/ Fried Tofu, Vermicelli Noodles, Bean sprouts and Broccoli. All the goodies sunk to the bottom!

After dinner, we saw The Help.

We both really enjoyed it and recommend it to all. My mom read the book and said it was better than the movie (when is it not?) but I have never read the book. Regardless of age, sex, social status, I think this movie would resonate with every human who has some source of compassion. “The Help” is realistic fiction that tells the TRUE story of inequality through the microcosm of Jackson, Mississippi. By focusing on the house help, the viewer gets an inside, nitty gritty look at the lives of white housewives and their interactions with their “colored” maids. Despite the heavy context, the movie is light-hearted and prompts plenty of laughs.

Goodnight 🙂

*Have you seen The Help yet? What did you think?

*What are your favorite farmer’s market finds?

Leave a comment